School supplies. New clothes. Meet the teacher.

Are you ready for back to school?!

Well, you may not be, if you also haven’t scheduled eye exams for your family.

Good vision and overall eye health are vital to learning and other aspects of health, yet Latino children are more likely than their peers to have vision problems.

latina girl glassesTo celebrate Children’s Eye Health and Safety Month in August, let’s use #SaludTues on Tuesday, Aug. 8, 2017, to tweet about the latest on Latino children’s eye health and how parents and others can improve children’s vision!

  • WHAT: #SaludTues Tweetchat “Children’s Eye Health and Safety Month”
  • TIME/DATE: 1-2 p.m. ET (Noon-1 p.m. CT), Tuesday, Aug. 8, 2017
  • WHERE: On Twitter with hashtag #SaludTues
  • HOST: @SaludAmerica
  • Co-Host: American Academy of Ophthalmology (@AcademyEyeSmart)
  • Optional hashtag: #EyeHealth

We’ll open the floor to your comments, tips, and stories as we explore:

  • What is Children’s Eye Health and Safety Month?
  • What types of eye diseases are common in children?
  • What are some signs that your child might have issues with his/her eyes?
  • Where can you find reputable information about eye health?

Be sure to use the hashtag #SaludTues to follow the conversation on Twitter and share stories and resources to help children have overall good eye health.

See our full Tweetchat schedule.

#SaludTues is a weekly Tweetchat about Latino health at 12p CST/1p ET every Tuesday and hosted by @SaludAmerica, the Latino health social media campaign of the Institute for Health Promotion Research (IHPR) at UT Health San Antonio and its Salud America! obesity prevention program funded by the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation.

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here